Menu Close

Wayne LaPierre retains leadership of NRA; Charles Cotton elected president


The Countrywide Rifle Affiliation on Saturday explained its board of administrators reelected controversial CEO Wayne LaPierre.

The gun-rights group tweeted that Charles Cotton was elected president, Ret. Lt. Col. Willes K. Lee was elected initially vice president, and David Coy second vice president.

The votes took put at a board assembly in Charlotte, N.C., that followed the yearly members meeting.

“The proceedings in Charlotte ended up an astounding celebration of NRA fellowship and independence,” Cotton claimed in a statement that accompanied the tweet. “Under the path of Wayne LaPierre, the NRA is solid and secure – very well positioned to chart its class for the long run.”

Cotton is best known for blaming the 2015 massacre at a Charleston, S.C., church on the anti-gun pastor killed in the attack.

LaPierre gained the board’s vote despite several scandals at the non-earnings, including a suit brought final 12 months by New York Attorney Typical Letitia James that alleges that LaPierre and other best executives diverted millions of the organization’s funds and recognized inappropriate items to subsidize their lavish existence.

Cotton, a LaPierre loyalist, was chairman of the NRA Audit Committee when James designed her allegations.

The organization did not share Saturday’s vote tally.

Last week, outgoing board member Roscoe Marshall questioned to intervene in James’ suit, which seeks to crack up the corporation, inquiring the court docket to appoint a momentary receive and set up totally new management.


Resource url